New Perak MB: Five exco members to be sworn in today (Dec 10), state govt to be formed

KUALA KANGSAR: Five state executive council members will be appointed today (Dec 10) to form a state government first, says Datuk Saarani Mohamad.

He said this after his first press conference at Dewan Jubli Perak here after he was sworn in as the Perak Mentri Besar earlier at Istana Iskandariah.

Saarani said he had informed the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, that since they were running out of time, a state government needed to be formed first before the state assembly sitting starts next Wednesday (Dec 16) for the state budget to be presented.

“The first five exco members will take their oath at 2.30pm.

“As per the constitution, there needs to be the Mentri Besar and at least four exco members, ” he added.

When asked who the five exco members to appointed are, he said that would be made known later during the swearing-in ceremony.

Commenting on the Perak Ruler’s speech, Saarani said he was excited and touched by the address.

He said the Ruler was concerned about the fate of the people due to the Covid-19 pandemic, and he did not want to see any political conflicts.

“I will carry out my duties as the Mentri Besar at my best, and ensure a smooth running of the state administration.

“It is not something to be proud of (his post as MB) as before me are a lot of matters that I need to be responsible for, ” he added.

He said the top leadership of Perikatan Nasional have met and are working together, and at the state level he would ensure in resolving all weaknesses within the three parties (Umno, PAS, and Bersatu).

“We will try to unite all the three parties, and “mengubat luka jika ada (heal all wounds if there are any), ” he added.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *