Melaka plans to create two new districts, one sub-district, state assembly hears

MELAKA: Melaka proposes to create two new districts and a sub-district to streamline the administration of the state.

Datuk Seri Idris Haron (BN-Sg Udang) told the Melaka state assembly on Wednesday (Dec 9) that efforts are being taken to make Masjid Tanah and Merlimau separate districts and Sungai Rambai as a sub-district.

“The move to declare these areas as districts is being made to strengthen the administrative system of the state, and not due to political mileage,” he said.

Idris, who is also Melaka Rural Development, Flood Management And Green Technology Committee chairman, said the state will emphasise fulfilling the 23 criterias needed to declare the three areas as districts.

Melaka currently has three districts – Melaka Tengah, Alor Gajah and Jasin.

Idris also told the assembly that Masjid Tanah is expected to be a separate district by 2025.

Idris also told the assembly that the initial proposal to declare Masjid Tanah and Merlimau was tabled in the 1990s.

“However, the process of declaring an area as a district requires detailed reports on various segments such as population count, the size of the area, as well as amenities available.

“This process takes a very long time to materialise,” he told the assembly.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *